Advent Day 1.

According to our church calendar, the 40-day Advent season begins today.

Advent day 1.

No, the Advent calendar did not get finished in time. Small felt pieces, various sewing implements, and lots of good intentions are littered all over the kitchen table. Part of the problem is that I experienced a setback: I ran out of Joann’s coupons and decided to use a piece of linen from my stash for backing. But even after lots of careful measuring, pinning, and pressing, it just looked lumpy and BAD. And so I picked apart what I had sewn, trimmed my now-wonky felt pieces, and am summoning the enthusiasm to try again. Missing the deadline is kind of depressing, but I remind myself a lot that making stuff for my children is not nearly as important as taking good care of the children themselves. (Oh, we are also sick. The girls and I got a nasty cold, and there are still a lot of runny noses and sore throats.) I am a teeny bit tempted to throw in the hat and wait until next year, but I think I’m going to try to finish in the next few days. Camilla is still young enough that she won’t be nearly as disappointed as I am.

Anyhow, I’ve set myself the goal of putting up a photo and maybe a few thoughts as many days as I can during Advent. I think it would be foolish to commit to every day, but if I can get in the habit then maybe it won’t seem so hard. I want to look around our lives more the way I do with a camera in front of me. There are so many things to notice.

Today’s book:¬†The Christmas Story, Gennady Spirin
Today’s activity: dinner with friends

Leave a Reply

