Tomorrow.

My dearest Camilla,

Tomorrow is your second birthday and I can’t wait to celebrate it with you. We want to do all of your favorite things: eat donuts and pizza and cake, open presents, play at Gymboree, feed the duckies. We love to watch you be happy.

Tomorrow she turns two.

You are such a beautiful girl. I let you run around the house in a diaper because it’s hot but also because I love looking at your sturdy little legs and arms and tummy. It’s hard to believe that your father and I produced such a perfect little person. And such an interesting one! We waited and waited to find out what you had to say, and now that you can tell us you are even more clever and creative than I had hoped for. We laugh with and at and for you all the time.

I don’t think I can truly say that I “can’t believe you’re turning two” or that it has “gone by so fast” or any of the other pat phrases that people use for children’s birthdays. I feel like all three of us have worked hard to get you to this age. You have done a fine job eating and pooping and crawling and walking and talking. And we’ve tried to help you and correct you and give you exciting things to learn about. At times, it’s been downright exhausting. But we love you so much that we want to set aside our own plans and desires and do what’s best for you instead of ourselves. We’ve only had two years of practice so we’re not very good at this yet, but I’m hoping that you’ll forgive us our failings and be patient as we learn to be good parents.

We have been so pleased to see how quickly and gracefully you have adjusted to sisterhood. You love little Beatus so much, and it makes me want to cry every time you bend down to kiss her soft little head. I know that there are times when you wish that you had your parents’ attention all to yourself again, but it has already been so good for you to learn to share.

So, my child, I am very happy and excited for you as you begin your third year of life. Your father and sister and I love you so very much, and I can’t wait to see what this year brings for the four of us.

Love,

Mama

 

 

3 thoughts on “Tomorrow.

  1. Paula, I’ve just accessed your blog for the first time. Josh told me yesterday that today would be Camilla’s second birthday. I’m so happy for the four of you–five, really, with your mom there at present. I hope you will all have a delightful day! May God grant you many years!

Leave a Reply

