Hi there.

There’s a long story behind my absence that involves my laptop screen dying, Josh leaving, my mother coming, Josh coming back, my mother leaving, a glorious Easter celebration, a small birthday celebration, and the tech store at the mall holding my computer hostage for two whole weeks while doing absolutely nothing. I still don’t have it back (we’re on tech company no. 2 now), which means that the huge reservoir of photos on my camera will remain hidden for a while longer. Sigh. And do I need to mention that I’ve been really tired lately? Third trimester + active toddler + several months of poor sleep = a pretty exhausted mama. It also doesn’t help that all manner of friends and random people can’t help but comment that I look like I’m ready to have the baby any day now. Except that I’m not. Seven weeks to go, more or less. I think I will need my own backup alarm and rear view mirrors in seven weeks, and I might just start wearing a tent for good measure.

The number seven kind of freaked me out, actually. Eight weeks seemed like a lot longer than seven. I feel the sudden urge to make sure we’ve got little diapers and t-shirts and a bassinet and whatnot. I can’t say that I feel like cleaning the whole apartment, but I definitely realize that any sewing, crafting, or household projects need to be done soon or they’re going to wait for a looooong time. I am going to cut myself a big expectations break after baby no. 2. No handmade presents or home improvements until everyone sleeps through the night and takes a decent daytime nap. And if the new one is like Camilla, that could be January.

With this in mind, I’ve cut out what will be Camilla’s 2nd birthday party decor and am just looking for the motivation to pull out the ol’ sewing machine. I sewed a decent muslin for one side of the sofa base slipcover but need to make a second and measure the fabric that goes in between…if I’m ever going to finish this giant project, at least I’m going to do it right! There’s nothing more frustrating than sinking a bunch of time into something and then rushing at the end so that it all falls apart.

I think my child has awoken from a too-short nap, so I’m going to finish quickly with something my mom told me I should do. I’m sure every mother says/thinks this, but Camilla says the cutest things these days. She tends not to string phrases together, but she’s very good with individual words and is really working hard on a few songs (like the ABCs). So, because I know I’ll want to remember this in years to come, here is a short list of Camilla-isms to make your day a little happier. I think they’re so darn cute that I almost don’t want to set her straight.

sister = dursis, durser
cantelope = chope-a-chope
smoothie = mooshie
cereal = seersal
apple = appo
mango = hingo
blanky = bitsy
(cousin) Ransom = Sam-sam
toothbrush = brosh!!! (always with excitement)

That’s all I can remember right now, but I’ll add some more later.

5 thoughts on “Hi there.

  1. I think my favorite is ‘mooshie’ :-) We still fondly remember the days of Abby saying ‘durch’ instead of church.
    And I’m not just syaing it to say it…you look beautiful!

  2. those baby talk words are so cute.
    i totally know what you mean about waiting on projects. Before Estella was born I was a complete whirlwind of crafting activity because I was panicking that it would be SO LONG before I could get back into it again. :)
    As it turned out, it wasn’t all that long. But I know the feeling.

  3. Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so
    I came to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and wonderful design and style.

Leave a comment