A sweater for Baby.

I worked very hard to finish this last weekend, but then (of course) didn’t get the chance to blog about it until today. Here it is: my first sweater!

Baby's new sweater.

You have no idea what this has done for my knitting confidence. Up till now, I’ve mostly knitted in straight lines and almost never from patterns. You can do a lot of hats and scarves that way, but I wanted a real garment.

I used the Green Zebra Baby Sweater pattern which I found on ravelry. I was just looking for a basic, slightly girly sweater so I let the yarn do the striping all by itself. The stripes on the original are adorable, but I’m thinking about making this again in plain white or cream for the new baby since I like the way it fits.

I made one buttonhole somewhere but since the yarn was so fine it was too small for a decent button and I decided to skip the rest. I might add a loop and a big button at the top to cover the extra seed stitch row I added by mistake. Oops.

It’s pretty obvious when I look at it that this is a first-try sweater. I’ve been toying with knitting as a hobby that, unlike many others, can be carried out here and there and not just crammed into naps or nights. Half a row here, two rows there…something where you don’t have to set aside everything else in your life until you finish. (Sewing and art projects tend to, ah, take over.) The only catch is that it means that I have to pick a pretty easy pattern without a lot of counting. I made a few goofs on this sweater because I was trying to multi-task, so in the future I know to save the top for a time when Camilla is sleeping. (Oh, I also learned that I need to confine my kitchener’s stitch to underarms only, because nobody needs to see how messy it is.)

I had already knit Baby’s hat (and of course you remember the dress), but it bothered me to no end that it was too short. Plus, it kept popping off and I spent a lot of time answering the request to “hep! hep!” put the hat back on. So, I picked up some stitches and added the earflaps.

Baby's improved hat.

Hah hah, Baby — who’s taking your hat off now?

If I was really going to be thorough, I suppose I ought to knit her some little booties as well. But you know what? Baby is only a doll, and her feet don’t really get cold. So I’m going to call it quits with the doll projects for now and finish the baby hat I have on the needles. At last count, I back-owe gifts to at least three babies (I’m thinking hats) plus a hospital hat for my own Junebaby and some sweaters. That ought to keep me busy for a while.

3 thoughts on “A sweater for Baby.

  1. Paula, they look great! MUCH MUCH better than my first attempt at several sweaters. I (for quite some time) decided that I was above using a pattern, only to have myself shamed entirely when they fit no one. I do love self striping yarn, it makes things look a lot more complex than they really are.

    Way to go. The first sweater is the hardest, it just gets easier/more fun from here!

Leave a Reply

