Pre-nesting nesting.

It may sound odd, but I think I’ve already started nesting. It began before the poppyseed was even conceived: we knew we wanted another baby, and I knew that once I got pregnant I’d start puking. This gave me a lot of incentive to try to finish up some projects around the house. (This probably sounds crazy, so maybe another mama can chime in and let me know I’m not alone…)

Anyhow, I didn’t get that far down my list. I did find us a new kitchen table ($5!) at a yard sale, but I doubt I’ll be doing any painting or refinishing. I also picked out fabric for new throw pillows in the living room but didn’t sew them, and I’ve gotten about 1/3 of the way through the sofa slipcover. Oh, and I bought 6 yards of a really decent cheap fabric that’s meant for new curtains, but I haven’t started on them yet.

Basically, I am awash in fabric and good intentions but starting to feel lacking in energy and good health. I guess pre-nesting nesting can only take a girl so far. Good thing the Anthropologie catalog is here to help me spend my time daydreaming instead.

Dreaming about an Anthro home.

One of the strange things about this pregnancy is that it’s so closely synchronized with Camilla’s two years ago that I can look back at old blog entries like this and have a pretty good idea of how I’ll be feeling in the weeks to come. Based on these predictions I thought that I had until Saturday to sew like crazy, but I seem to have been off by a few days. Once again, I’ve been starting out with “evening sickness,”  although I am guessing that it will take over the whole day in another week or two. Maybe I can finish at least the cushion covers during morning naptime…it sure would be nice to have something pretty to lie on when I’m feeling miserable.

3 thoughts on “Pre-nesting nesting.

  1. I’m so sorry about your nausea…it brings back unfond memories…and evening sickness is a much better name for it. Maybe allday sickness. Just keep eating! anything that will stay down! Much love and prayers! Mom

  2. My two pregnancies (Sep-June!) were so different from each other! With Cassie, I had every symptom in the book including aches and pains and nausea. Sam was a breeze except for starting out as triplets and a little preeclampsia. Fond memories! Good luck with all the sewing. I was staining and finishing new dressers a month before I delivered (with a mask on, of course). Hope you start feeling better. Take care! And “hi” to Josh and Camilla.

Leave a comment