My little elf.

I pulled out the sewing machine last week when the temperature took another little dip. Camilla and I were going to take a walk and I thought “Aha! I’ll just whip up a little hat while she naps.”

Famous last words.

Going for a walk in the fall-ish weather.

I downsized the adorable pattern from this book and used some grey knit I already had. The pattern is made for fleece and, if I were to do it again, I would definitely use that instead.

What's that, mommy? I look pretty darn cute?

You see, it turns out that my beloved sewing machine really dislikes knit. It’s just a little too slippery for the feed dogs and the tension is whacko, so my quick little project turned into a two-hour saga of missed stitches, tension adjustments, machine cleaning, needle changing, and the like. Anyone else had problems like this??

(This photo describes how I felt…)

Hurry up!

It turned out okay in the end, but the ribbons attach in the wrong places and there is no way I’m going to rip out my hard-won seams to fix it. Guess I won’t be working with knits again anytime soon.

Thank you all for the kind words and prayers for my family. I am sad that we won’t be able to go to grandpa’s funeral, but I’m working on a slideshow of his life and home that makes me feel as though I am sending a little bit of me across the miles. I am hoping I can condense many years into a fitting tribute to a man who loved and cared for us very much.

8 thoughts on “My little elf.

  1. this hat is precious! i can’t count how many of my projects have begun with the words, “I’ll just whip up…” and ended in a multi-hour/day fiasco.

    I do have a very cute pattern for a crocheted hat with flowers that I “whipped up” for Mary Willis years ago. Let me know if you want it.

  2. Knits can be tricky, sometimes it just depends on the texture of the knit. The hat turned out really cute. Camilla is growing so much. It’s fun to see her progress here.

  3. Cute baby and cute hat! She is very adorable. Cassie and I really enjoy checking out your blog every once in awhile to see her progress.

    One small suggestion as a frequent sewer? Were you using a ball point needle? That has meant the difference between an easy and a hard project for me.

    We were sorry to hear about your grandfather. You will cherish those pictures you took of Camilla with him last summer.

  4. Tooo cute!! and a minor tune-up on your machine:) Can’t tell you how many times in my life I’ve worked on my sewing machines…Ha! I like to tell myself that it was a good lesson in patience…haha!! I agree…ball needle for knits.

    Woman vs. Machine….Woman Won!!

  5. Pbird,

    You’re mom was squealing like a 3 year old when she saw the pictures.

    “SHE THE WORLD’S CUTEST BABY,” in a very surprisingly loud tone. “SHE’S SO CUTE I CAN’T STAND IT!” Then she waved her arms in short little jerks.

    Your Dad, with only 3 hours sleep last night, agreed, but certainly didn’t have the emotional overtones.

    I’m somewhere in the middle. Great photos.

    Affectionately,
    Uncle T

  6. That last bottom picture is my favortie. And she looks like you in it. Hat = supercute…knit = weeping and gnashing of teeth.

    :)

  7. She’s adorable, Paula. And even though my eye is completely untrained when it comes to knit hats.. it looks great!

    Can’t wait to see you all in December.

    Peace

Leave a Reply

