New developments.

When people told me, “They grow up so fast!” it used to annoy me, but now I think I know what they mean. It’s not that babies turn into toddlers in the blink of an eye — Camilla is still definitely a baby, but she’s not a newborn anymore. She seems to pick up a new skill or refine an old one almost every day, and she’s already outgrown the stages at which she couldn’t do this or that, leaving them forever in the dust.

For example, at about 8 weeks she began focussing her eyes really well and loving to just look at things. It made my life a lot easier when she realized that those little objects dangling above the bassinet are really cool. Cool enough that they can be stared at for five or ten minutes.

Now we like toys.

They’re also good for smiling at.

I felt like we had such a breakthrough the first day she became interested in toys, mostly for husband’s sake. He had been so looking forward to the day when she could play with him.

Now, a few shakes of Jingle Pig usually get her attention.

Jingle Pig!

I keep thinking that I will never forget these moments, but I know that I need to write them down for the sake of the next baby. I need to remember that the screamies mostly passed at about 6 weeks, leaving everyone much relieved. Sleeping settled into a pattern about then too (waking only 2 or 3 times a night), and Camilla started to lift her head and look around. By 8 weeks she loved toys and dangly things, and by 9 weeks being carried face forward — and riding in the stroller — was a big hit.

Now, at 10 weeks, her flailing is turning into grabbing and she will voraciously stuff a burp cloth into her mouth when hungry. Nursing is not the calm, peaceful activity that it used to be…I am a little sad about that. She certainly seems to be getting plenty to eat, though! She was over 12 lbs at her 8 (almost 9) week checkup, and we’re on the verge of being too big for those 0-3 month outfits.

In light of all these new developments, perhaps you will forgive me for being such a bad blogger (and for talking about nothing but the baby). We’ve taken a ton of photos that I still need to post, but I haven’t wanted to take the time. When I do sit down at the computer, I’m mostly looking for inspiration for new projects. I have some ideas for our little apartment (which I kind of gave up on for a while) and for a few baby clothes I want to sew. Oh, and I picked up a pen last night and did some drawing for the first time in ages. It’s not very easy for me to draw and nurse at the same time, unfortunately, but I’m trying to refine my technique.

Now that husband is back at school and I’m on my own all day, I’m looking for the right balance between baby care, housework, cooking, seeing friends, getting out, and working on my own projects. One of the great fallacies about stay-at-home motherhood is that you have all this time on your hands. Hah! Rather, you have to cleverly scheme so that you fit the baby into as many projects as possible and pounce on the other ones as soon as she goes to sleep.

Hpoefully I will get cleverer and cleverer as we go along.

One thought on “New developments.

Leave a Reply

