Daddy love.

This is a little post about my husband and how much he loves me. And Camilla.

Husband was truly the most amazing support person while I was giving birth. He faithfully timed contractions at home for hours, providing whatever beverages, distractions, or counterpressure I asked for. And then when the time came to make that midnight drive to the hospital, he avoided every speed bump (there are a lot of those in Pensacola), drove slowly enough not to get a ticket, and walked with me at a snail’s pace to the door of the emergency room after I decided that we absolutely had to leave the car in a regular parking spot. He stayed by my side throughout delivery — which was unmedicated and therefore rather demanding — and watched his daughter being born with the exact same auburnish hair and eyes as his own.

After we came home from the hospital, he adapted faster than I thought possible to our new rhythm of diapering, swaddling, shushing, and swinging our little babe. Since he’s a night owl, he takes the “late shift” and watches Camilla into the wee hours of the morning while I nap between feedings. Last night he pacified her for an unheard-of three hour stretch while I slept off a killer headache. It was the nicest present anyone could have given me.

I am so glad that he is my husband and the father of my child. He’s already the best daddy ever.

Daddy love.

4 thoughts on “Daddy love.

  1. It makes me so happy to hear how much you love and appreciate my nephew….and I just can’t get enough of seeing Camilla.

    Yesterday, I was looking at a picture I have of her daddy at the same age as Camilla is now…. definitely the same eyes and hair:)

    Thanks for all this wonderful blog time you are putting in, but be sure you are getting lots of rest….glad Josh and Camilla have you.

    Hugs
    Aunt Jeanne

Leave a Reply

