The waiting game.

Babybird continues to refuse to come outside and play, so life in the Gibbs household has settled into a holding pattern. Husband is officially on vacation now, too, so we had a very peaceful and enjoyable Library Day yesterday. Between the local university library and the downtown public library, we have a pretty decent array of (free!) summer reading options to choose from. I made a rare new book purchase at Barnes & Noble last week and came home with A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg. Lots of fun stories + some yummy-looking recipes = motivation to read more books about food. My desire to cook experiences severe ups and downs and I have to say that it hasn’t been very high ever since I got pregnant, but I am hoping that things will change in the months to come. (You know, once there’s a baby around who will make cooking 10x more complicated than it was before.) Rather than loading up on cookbooks, though, I decided to try a thinker’s approach and picked up copies of The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Second Nature, Fast Food Nation, and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. At the very least, I hope to find my lost motivation to start a potted garden on our back patio. Anyone have other suggestions for good reading along those lines?

I can only sit on the couch for so long before my back starts killing me, however, so I’m trying to fit in a few other activities as well. I finished that wedding photo album (is it just me, or is this a pretty common first-baby activity?), I’ve clipped a ton of photos from old National Geographics for my new collage obsession, I baked scones, I cleaned the apartment, I did laundry, I packaged a final Etsy order, I finally got my new Adobe CS4 running on the computer (hooray!!!). I even finished a pastel portrait commission that someone asked me to do almost two months ago:

Pastel portrait.

I’m going to get some supplies today for a collage I want to finish in the baby’s room…I kind of hope that she’ll come before I’m done, but I might as well be productive while I can.

That pregnant silhouette.

Here’s to hoping that this silhouette is enjoying its very last days (or hours)!

2 thoughts on “The waiting game.

  1. We’re loooking forward to hearing baby Gibbs news! Have you read Supper of the Lamb, by Capon (I think). We read this one aloud and it’s funny and inspiring (though I still haven’t done homemade chicken stock. . .).

  2. Hooray for Omnivore’s Dilemma. I really enjoyed In Defense of Food. Jonathan read Fast Food Nation. We have not eaten mush fast food since then with the exception of Chick-Fil-A.

    Nice portrait!

Leave a Reply

