Almost there.

Husband and I are counting this as my first Mother’s Day, seeing as growing a baby involves a fair amount of work (less than taking care of an infant, I”m sure, but enough work that you are already mothering before the baby is born). I got to ask for a meal of my choice, so he is fixing me quiche in the kitchen right now. Quiche with Danish blue cheese and mushrooms and onions and broccoli. Yum. Hopefully baby will be out and about by Father’s Day and I will get to return the favor.

My due date is only five weeks away. Five is suddenly sounding like a very, very small number. My mum went early with her babies, so I am hoping to get the nursery completely ready in the next two weeks so I won’t be huffing down the aisles of Target in between contractions. I’ve held off on some things because our church baby shower is next Sunday and you never know what you’re going to get. But as soon as the shower is over, I really need to get moving on a few things (sheets for the crib would be nice, don’t you think?).

Unfortunately (or perhaps fortunately), school is keeping me very distracted these days as end-of-the-year momentum continues to grow. Entries for the highly anticipated all-school art contest are due on Tuesday, and I have had a crazy time for the past few weeks trying to get a couple of classes to finish projects in time. Sometimes kids can just be so slow.  And if they are slow, we run out of time to clean up or I end up doing bits and pieces of things for them after class, all of which results in very stressful teaching days and lots of extra hours spent at school. But now we’re at the “if it’s not done, it’s not done” stage and all I have to do is help organize and hang the entries and hand out prizes at the end. (No, I am not judging…I in no way want to be responsible for who gets those coveted prizes!) And I have vowed that we will only do very simple, very low-prep projects for the rest of the year. I may have said that before, but this time I really mean it.

Five more weeks. And then everything will be different.

I am terrified and I can’t wait.

One thought on “Almost there.

Leave a Reply

