Operation: Baby’s Room (a week later).

For some happy reason, our school tacks an extra Monday onto spring break. (Perhaps it’s because they know that everyone procrastinates on school projects over break and really needs that extra day to get their stuff together?) So I technically have today to work on home projects, but I’ve decided to call it quits for a while…over the weekend I was so tired I could–and did–cry, which seemed a little antithetical to the idea of a “break.”  

Anyhow, this is as much as I got done in the baby’s room. I managed to complete each of the big projects I had in mind (paint wall, paint dresser, buy + assemble crib and bookshelf, clear out other junk) and I’m pretty happy with the way it looks right now.

Baby's room (after).

This is the view from the hallway. I so love my little Amy Ruppel encaustic piece and am happy that it’s the first thing you see when you walk in.

Baby's room (after).

This is the version of the Gulliver crib that we ended up with. I had really wanted white, but in the end I think that the birch works pretty well as long as I have white or mostly white sheets (I still need to order the white-with-navy-blue-polka-dots sheets that I finally tracked down).  My contact paper stencil project ended up working really well and I will post a tutorial as soon as I can. As a little preview, though, I can tell you that it involved cutting out nine bird silhouettes on contact paper, applying them to the wall, giving them a coat of primer to seal the edges, and then painting over the whole thing with two coats of gorgeous sky blue.

Still need a curtain...

Um, now that I look at this shelf I’m wondering why I ever thought I needed the big version. I have plenty of room for more toys and books…why do I automatically assume that bigger is better? I do still need to work on cleaning that chair, though. I contemplated trying to dye it green to cover the dirty spots, but the golden color goes really well with the crib. Any tips on cleaning velour upholstery?

Little sweaters and dresses.

I don’t want to show the whole (still messy) closet, but I adore looking at baby’s little clothes hanging in a row. No, I don’t plan on dressing her entirely in pastels–I just scooted the other colors to the side because they don’t look as nice together.

The refinished dresser.

I should have taken a better before photo so you can tell how much better the dresser looks now. It is really quite improved, between the fresh paint and shiny white knobs. (The painting/collage, obviously, still has a long way to go.)

Putting baby's clothes inside.

I even lined the drawers with cute polka dot contact paper and spent a happy evening folding little bitty onesies inside. It’s amazing how quickly all that space fills up!

White knobs!

I went back and forth for a while trying to figure out what to do about the brass knobs. Furniture purists may hate me for this, but in the end I decided to paint them and I am so happy I did.

Brasso did a good job (but not good enough).

I did give it a go with steel wool and Brasso first, but the brass had a strange speckling that just would not go away. I think they originally had some sort of gold colored plating that was wearing off, but the only advice I could find online for removing plating involved phrases like “reverse the polarity.” Um, no thank you.

Spray painting the dresser knobs.

At the advice of the salesperson at Lowe’s, I went with high-gloss latex spray paint and it worked pretty well. If you are going to try this at home, I highly recommend propping the handles up on some styrofoam or they all tip over. Oh, and make sure to use lots of paint or the finish is matte instead of shiny. It will probably chip off eventually, but for now it looks pretty good.

30 weeks.

All of these projects (plus a lot of other ones) were made more challenging by the constantly growing person inside of me who has developed a new affinity for kicking in uncomfortable places. I had an appointment with the midwife this morning and she told me that I’m reasonably-sized for week 30. That was nice to hear, because I’ve been feeling positively enormous lately. Husband affectionately refers to the “big baby,” which may just be a euphemism for “big wife.” But it certainly sounds nicer.

5 thoughts on “Operation: Baby’s Room (a week later).

  1. I love the birds on the wall! Very nicely done. And it *is* amazing how much room their clothes can take up! Since Eva will be in our room with us till we move I thought I could just clear out half of one of my drawers to use for her things. I ended up clearing out two drawers and two shelves in my closet. You’d think I’d know better, this being the second time around…

  2. Paula, you’ve done it again. Inspired me to do something useful with myself.

    P.S. you look fabtastically awesome. And I wish I was exaggerating.

  3. It looks so peaceful and pretty Paula! You look fabulous and I’m so excited for the advent of baby! I was wishing we could see you this past week until I realized Pensacola is at least 10 hours from Ft.lauderdale . . . why do states have to be so big??

Leave a Reply

