A portrait.

A very nice lady who’d bought something previously from me on Etsy asked if I would do a portrait of her beloved cat. This kind of request makes me very happy because I know in advance that the piece of art will be meaningful to someone and have a specific use (vs. trying to convince a potential buyer that my art would be just perfect in their living room).

Commissioned cat portrait in ink and gouache.

So this is Taylor, in ink + gouache.

I am also working on a big big big canvas (think 2 ft x 4 ft) but I’ve only just started the painting part. It will be for our bedroom and is based on an idea of husband’s. I told him one day that I wanted to take down the Marimekko fabric over the bed and paint something kind of abstract and oh, did he happen to have any ideas? He stared at me for a moment and then got a piece of paper and then drew a very detailed sketch of a little scene that he evidently drew every day a few years ago while working at a telephone research company. I am now turning that scene into an acrylic painting and am very hopeful about the results, assuming I don’t mess it up because it’s been so long since I’ve worked in acrylic. Big art really appeals to me right now for some reason. I have two other large canvases in the apartment that currently hold stretched fabric, but if I get good ideas I’d like to turn them both into paintings as well.

Since I’m channelling my spare time into class prep and painting I haven’t sewn any cute little things for the baby yet. I think I need some patterns since none of the baby clothes in Amy Butler’s Little Stitches were exactly what I want: I’m thinking very simple smocks or skirts to go over onesies in the 0-3 mo size and then some simple gathered waist dresses in the 3-6 and 6-9 mo sizes. I’m not really inclined to go all-out on complicated infant clothes right now since I think I’ll probably be swaddling the baby or carrying her in a sling a lot and why make a really cute outfit if no one’s going to see it? I did give in to my urge to knit the other day and started either a skirt or jumper in a very fine vintage acrylic yarn that mom got me a few years back. I admit that I plunged right in without checking my gauge, however, so I have no idea what size it’s going to be…oh well. When you gotta knit, you gotta knit.

I will try to take a new pregnant photo soon for you far-away friends–I feel as though my belly really popped out last week! It was holding pretty steady for a few weeks and I was feeling pleased with my not-too-bad weight gain and then all of the sudden it was as though I added two inches to my waistline. I can also (finally) feel the baby kicking from time to time, which was a big relief. I’m sure I’ll feel differently in three months, but I kept begging her to kick me hard so it wasn’t ambiguous and she finally did. Now I can feel little staccato taps when I wake up in the middle of the night, which I’ve been doing a lot lately. I also dream lots of strange dreams, so going to bed is like reading a book of short stories each night: lately I’ve had between 3 and 6 distinct dreams per night, depending on how many times I wake up. I’m sure it’s providing deep insight into my psyche, but sometimes I’d prefer lovely black nothingness to a night of running around in bizarre situations. But hey, I’ll take what I can get.

3 thoughts on “A portrait.

  1. Paulakins,
    Congrats, congrats a thousand times over! (I’m pretty sure I haven’t written since finding out, and now you are well into your pregnancy – do show some more tummy pics! Your last is so adorable. <3)
    The apartment is fantastic, as per your uzh (how do you spell abbreviated ‘usual’?). I’m sorry you have to move, but can’t wait to see the next permutation.
    Hope your Valentine’s is loverly…Austin and I are going up to Spokane to see ‘Coraline’ in 3D and gaze into each other’s bi-colored glasses. :)
    Much, much love to all three of you,
    Lolalou

Leave a Reply

