Well, that was exciting.

Hulloo, I’m back! (Er, I guess I didn’t go anywhere. But you know what I mean.)

A few kind friends + family have asked how the conference went, and the answer is that it had an unusually high number of snafoos. Almost everything seemed to work out okay in the end, but the first couple of days included a bunch of event-planning nightmares, such as:

  • dorm room keys that don’t work
  • dorm room keys that don’t exist
  • people without rooms
  • people unhappy with their rooms
  • people unhappy with our university’s ridiculously complex method of accessing the wireless internet (the instructions are literally 8 pages long)
  • a boss who is unhappy that other people are unhappy and asks you to call the IT director at home at 8 pm
  • give-away bags that show up with the wrong logo
  • reprinted give-away bags that show up 3 days after the conference starts
  • give-away pens that don’t show up because the warehouse was flooded and nobody bothered to tell us
  • reprinted give-away pens that are a) the wrong color, b) missing one logo, and 3) work for about 30 seconds before dying (hereafter affectionately referred to as “the POS pens”)
  • a boss who decides two days before the conference that it is absolutely necessary to serve danishes and cwoissant during morning break and that the local options are too expensive, therefore requiring a kind staff person to drive 80 minutes each day to the nearest Costco
  • the same boss noting 30 minutes before the first break that it would be best if said danishes and cwoissant were cut in half and arranged on little plates
  • all manner of computer problems that I didn’t have to solve because — for once! — I was not Tech Girl (tra la la)
  • all manner of other problems that I did have to help solve because I was Program/Registration/Website/Lodging/Transportation Girl
  • general lack of advance communication regarding when and where to move heavy objects, what to do about posters, when to serve meals, etc.

This isn’t an exhaustive list, but I think you get the idea. Sigh. The good news is that most people were only aware of 2-3 problems out of this list, so I think that we psyched ’em into thinking that everything else was going great. At least, I received some feedback to that effect. :)

Every time I have to work really long, hard hours at work, I go through some similar psychological stages. There’s the one where I really utterly dislike my boss (which I really don’t, by the way), the one where I swear that I am going to quit as soon as this is over, the one where I decide that all people are mean, the one where I decide that all people are nice, the one where I feel like I’m doing a really terrible job, the one where I feel like I’m doing an astonishingly good job, etc. Anyone else do this, too?

In the end, I always seem to end up incredibly exhausted and yet elated that we pulled everything off so well. Unfortunately, I am really good at a job/career that I don’t want. I think I mentioned before that there’s a chance that I will continue to do some graphic design work for my current employer after I move to FL. The details aren’t fixed yet, though, and I go back and forth as to whether or not this is something that I actually want. On the plus side, it will pay quite well, be part time, and I will really be able to help some people out since I think that a number of projects will get dropped or significantly stalled when I go. On the down side, I am pretty sure that it will not be entirely graphic design and that I will get pulled into a lot of work that I would really like to leave behind and never see again.

One of the things that I am most looking forward to about moving to Pensacola is the chance to start over in a lot of areas. And if I keep parts of my job, there will continue to be significant ties to the big ol’ pile of stress that is The Office. And yet, it’s really hard for me to brush away the money issue and the idea that me doing less work is going to create a lot of problems for my overworked supervisor, whom I really like.

Any ideas or suggestions? Have you ever faced something like this, and if so, what did you do??

[ Lest I forget, a thousand apologies for not responding to any comments (and some emails…) for such a long time. I am rather behind on everything — email, Etsy, blog, laundry, cleaning — right now, and it’s going to take me a while longer to dig myself out. Your patience + understanding are much appreciated. :) ]

4 thoughts on “Well, that was exciting.

  1. Well,

    You may already know my answer. I feel the pull for you in both directions. But, since it will be part time and might give some stability for you financially, and stress relief to your co-workers, I would just go for it. If it doesn’t work in the new life, you can always quit. But that said, I also feel your longing to just leave it all behind.

    This feels strange to talk so publicly;) I hope its ok.

  2. We’ve done a fair amount of moving throughout the years and the best part for me was always that feeling of starting over, of starting fresh, just like you said.

    As far as work, I think if you’re able to keep it part-time and only focused on the graphic design part, I think it would be a good way to go. Personally I’ve always needed a certain feeling of financial stability and to be able to get that by doing something you like part-time would be ideal: you would still have time to dedicate yourself to all the other projects you have in mind. But the important thing I think is to make sure it stays limited to the graphic design part and not let it bring with it other aspects of the job you want to leave behind. I know you don’t want to leave your co-workers behind in a bad situation, but at the same time you really have to balance your needs and theirs. Don’t feel guilty for setting up limits to what you will be able to do and how much you’ll be able to help.

    My two cents, anyway… :-)

  3. Hey, since everything else will be new and exciting and different it’s not so bad to bring a little something familiar along, to help establish a routine. As Alisha said, you can always just quit if it turns out to be less graphic design more headache. But a bit of cash is nice and it can’t hurt to give it a try.

  4. I did that several years ago, I felt the same way about my job, there were days that I just wanted to pick up and go and never come back, when I did decide/got another offer they asked me to do some work on the side. I agreed and it worked out pretty good. Trust me, it is not the same as going in everyday. Eventually you both move on and everyone benefits. Like someone else commented, you can always quit if it does not work.

Leave a Reply

