The Office (my own version).

I try not to blog about work very often since it’s all-too-often going to be a complaint or a story that ought not be made public. So I didn’t say anything about my glorious last seminar EVER last Wednesday and how I managed not to mess up the speaker’s schedule or the A/V equipment. (This was in fact a high point of this semester’s seminar series, as (a) all manner of scheduling problems have arisen with recent speakers, and (b) I have have consistently dealt with projector and laptop problems, which result in 60 people staring at me and pondering my incompetance as I fumble with various cords. Not fun.)

Today, however, I am unable to think about anything besides my job and am going to go ahead and write a bit about it because a lot of you readers are my friends and I would really appreciate a little moral support right now.

Most days of the week I dread coming in to the office and spend the bus ride thinking about all the things I need to accomplish and how many of them can go wrong. Now, I generally manage to avoid most of the unpleasant fruits of the imagination (like that meeting with your boss that you are sure is going to be horrible and then turns out to be pretty good in the end). Lately, however, this hasn’t been the case, and the correlation between “that which I am dreading” and “that which actually happens” has been unusually high, which is causing me to lose faith in the it’s not going to be that bad philosophy.

Take this morning, for instance. Yesterday afternoon, one of my “bosses” (whom I really, really like) asked me to call a last-minute meeting of an important committee. Five minutes after I cheerfully sent the email, I started to think about what he wanted to talk about. And I became convinced that he was going to announce his resignation.

I spent all of yesterday evening and all of this morning pondering this possibility.

And then he did.

To clarify, I am not upset at the decision itself. He is a very overworked and overstressed man, and I had been wondering for a while how he managed to keep going. The particular job in question is purely voluntary and waaaayyyy more than any sane person can fill while managing a productive, fully-funded research program. I am very happy that he doesn’t have to do this any more.

Quite selfishly, however, I am upset that I am losing someone who was kind, personable, and easy to work with, as I doubt that his replacement will share all of these characteristics (this person is TBD, by the way, so I am not referring to anyone in particular). It sounds cheesy, but he was my friend as well as my boss and I will miss seeing him every day. I am also faced with the situation of needing to pass along large quantities of information to this new person and my yet-to-be-hired replacement at the same time as I help plan and manage an international conference, finish all manner of program-related projects, overhaul a large website, and write a fairly complete manual for How To Do My Job before I wave goodbye on July 25. Just thinking about it makes me kind of nauseated.

So I am hoping that, given these circumstances, you will forgive me for not coming up with exciting blogging topics, new photos, or new art for the ol’ Etsy shop. I simply don’t know how to do it all.

(If you would, please pray that we can sucker convince someone else to fill the position that is being vacated as soon as possible. Otherwise, either I or our rather unwieldy committee will need to pick up a lot of slack, and I don’t think that the results will be pretty.)

One thought on “The Office (my own version).

Leave a Reply

