Hello again.

Well, that turned into a long-ish break, didn’t it?  Last week turned out to be rather more grueling than I had expected, and I’m still trying to get my health + energy back. I don’t want to bore you to tears with a full description, but highlights included:

  • lots and lots of late evenings at work
  • working for hours on a website that ended up getting scrapped in favor of a to-be-built new one
  • getting sick two days before 15 prospective students were due to arrive on campus
  • going to work for two days with the full-blown flu because there was absolutely, positively, no way to stay home (apologies, coworkers!)
  • literally losing my voice at a time when it’s very important that I communicate well
  • pondering whether I was capable of driving, and then finding out that I was
  • pondering whether I was capable of holding a coherent conversation, and then finding out that I was
  • pondering how I was going to possibly make it through the week, and then finding out that I could
  • realizing (again) that I am much more efficient when I have wayyyyy too much to do and can’t go home til it’s done
  • deciding that I hate my job
  • deciding that I love my job
  • deciding that, whether I love it or hate it, there’s no way I can quit and that I need to try harder to have a good attitude

If you talked with me at the end of last week, there’s a good chance that I didn’t have very many nice things to say about life. And if I had written the list above on Sunday, there’s a good chance that I would have only included the negatives (including a lot of things not mentioned). Dear, patient husband listened to an awful lot of complaining, and after all was said and done I owed him – and probably some of you – an apology. Yes, things feel like they suck sometimes. But God is good and He’s making good things happen even when you’re trying your best not to notice. I’m sorry for not looking around for the good as well as the bad, and that’s all I’m gonna say about that.

The Beans was a very patient dog last week, but I think her expression just about sums it up:

The Beans.

Recruitment weekend, we are SO glad that you’re over!

2 thoughts on “Hello again.

  1. So glad to hear you made it through, Paula. Can’t wait to catch up with you guys soon. We’ve been crazy too- Lewis is sick, thesis etc. But we are happy for Spring and good times coming.;) hope to ttys.

Leave a Reply

