A really good present.

You how, every once in a while, someone gets you just the perfect gift? The one you wanted to buy for yourself but didn’t have the money? The one you just forgot about because you knew it wasn’t going to happen?

A couple of months ago, I found a Calder lithograph on Craigslist. I told someone I work for about it, since he’s a big Calder fan, and then I forgot.

But guess what? He bought it for me!

My new Calder print.

Isn’t it fabulous?? It’s the kind of thing that makes you want to want to get rid of your furniture and buy new stuff to match. It needs to be re-framed, but that’ll happen one of these days.

The peaceful living room.

Mm, what a nice, peaceful, faintly mid-century living room. Still waiting for the couch of my dreams, but I’m learning to be content with old greeny for a while longer. (It helps that he’s really comfortable.)

In other important news, husband and I just finished watching season 3 of Lost and I can’t get it out of my head. It seems like a cruel joke to wait a whole year for something and then have it disappear in less than a week. But man, what a great week. I was conveniently sick, so we spent some lovely evenings and afternoons cuddled on the couch screaming “no, no, noooooo!” at Jack. And Locke. And Ben. And Charlie.

I hate to say it, but I found Heroes really underwhelming. We finished season 1 because we had to, but it was a grit-your-teeth-for-another-round-of-Mohinder kind of thing. Battlestar Galactica is way better. And Lost? The best of them all. I didn’t love the last couple of episodes, but the whole of the 3rd season was just so well-done, especially considering how many shows fall apart around season 3 (hello, O.C.).

Season 4 starts on January 31, and we just might have to invest in some cable, people.

2 thoughts on “A really good present.

  1. Oh my gosh Paula. that looks amazing. Very soothing looking the living room too. Like it. We should try and hook up. Sadly, this week is turning more busy than we had thought.

  2. Pingback: Furniture on the brain. «

Leave a Reply

