Hats, hats, hats.

I walked to the campus Post Office outpost in the pouring rain today. My packages were safely wrapped in a plastic bag, but I–alas–was not. There’s a very peculiar smell to wearing damp clothes and having damp hair, and a very peculiar feeling to having one’s jeans and sweater slowly dry out. It doesn’t rain here all that often, so it’s been a while.

As the title suggests, I’ve been thinking about hats. I’ve almost finished a hat I’m knitting for husband and I blocked one I made for myself, so I’ll probably have photos of those in the near future. Hats are such a satisfying knitting project for me: simple (at least mine are!) and useful.

I also put a print of Hats-the-illustration in the shop.

Hats.

I’ve got two versions, one with the text of the little story printed on it and one without. I have to admit that I wasn’t initially all that thrilled with the painting, but it’s been growing on me.

The last hats item has to do with a little piece that fell off the magnolia tree in our backyard. (Timu-san, this is for you.)

I picked it up the other day when I took the dog out and was amazed by how much it looked like a little elf cap.

Hmm, this looks like a little hat.

I immediately had a vision of closing the cap in my hand…

What happens if I close my hand?

…and opening it to find a startled little elf staring back at me.

Oh my!

Happy weekend!

One thought on “Hats, hats, hats.

Leave a Reply

