Thinking about the holidays.

For some reason, the Macy’s in our little small-town mall has decided to open a rather large and ambitious holiday store. When husband and I walked past it last night, the poor salesgirl was leaning against the doorpost looking unquestionably bored. We figured that she’d had maybe three people walk inside all day, and this figure probably won’t change for the next month. Serves ’em right for trying to sell Christmas ornaments before Halloween.

Christmas cards, on the other hand, have been on my mind for quite a while. My Three Days of Christmas print began as a holiday card idea, but I’ve decided that it’s not quite showy enough to warrant a large order. And if I don’t order a lot, the cards are quite expensive and I have to charge a lot for them. You see the problem.

In the end, I’ve decided to go with a tried-and-true illustration that I created a few years back when I was taking classes at RISD. It began as a class project, but I discussed the design with the publications coordinator at the Quaker prep school where I was working and they ended up using it as the school’s holiday card that year. I got quite a few nice comments and they’ve sold well at local craft fairs, so I decided to go with the sure thing and placed a big order so I can sell them in packs of 6 or 8.  (In case you, like me, are worried about copyright issues, I did check first to make sure that the school doesn’t feel as though they have the copyright to the design.)

My holiday card.

Obviously, the card is carefully religiously non-specific. And multiracial. It’s the kind of thing that I might be tempted to make fun of in Barnes & Noble when I’m having one of my anti-PC moments. But you know what? I really like it anyway. I don’t care that the candles might stand for Hannukah or the Quaker divine light or nothing in particular. I do care that the boy in the top right corner is supposed to be my then-boyfriend (now-husband), that the girl in the middle on the left is me, and that the red-haired girl in the bottom right was put there because my friend said that “there always has to be a curly red-haired girl in one of these things.” I wasn’t happy with a lot of my student work, but I did like this one. And I hope you will, too.

The cards will go in the shop as soon as I receive my order (another week and a half, maybe?).

3 thoughts on “Thinking about the holidays.

  1. I remember this illustration! It’s beautiful. Great idea to get it in bulk. You’ve almost gotten ME into the Xmas/holiday spirit. And that’s hard to do before Thanksgiving.

  2. Hi Paula! Nope you’ve not missed the giveaway – I have secretly delayed it until the 30th of October because I was madly busy on the 15th – LOL! I shall put in a good word for you to the prize drawer :)

Leave a Reply

