Not a good day.

The week has started out poorly: I found out last night that one of the faculty in the graduate program I coordinate died unexpectedly on Saturday. He was a really excellent scientist and was active in his lab up until last Friday, so this has been a big shock for everyone. There is a chance that work events will require me to delay the opening of my shop on Friday, but I’ll let you know in advance if that happens.

I’ve been trying hard not to cry all morning since it gives me a really terrible headache but I think the headache is going to win in the end. I got up at 5:30 am so I could go to an early meeting, only to be foiled by the good ol’ Wheatland Express. The 7:04 route? Early. The 7:15 route? Five minutes late. Me? 1/2 hour late for my meeting. I decided that late was better than never and managed to locate the proper room, where I discovered that everyone (= chairs and directors, since I was going as a stand-in for our program chair) were seated around a giant round table. I just couldn’t muster the courage to waltz in late and take a seat next to the dean of sciences, so I slunk back down the stairwell to find some breakfast. Only to be told that no, campus carts don’t accept debit cards anymore.

My morning events seem very minor in light of the death of someone who used to walk past my office every afternoon, but it’s all added up to a pretty bad day so far.

Please pray for the professor’s wife, children, and lab members, as they were not at all expecting this situation and there will be some complications that must be worked through immediately.

4 thoughts on “Not a good day.

  1. So sorry you’re having a bad day. My week’s started out pretty crummy, too, not that it helps any.
    Will be praying for your colleague’s family. How sad.

  2. these things are so hard and leave you feeling like the whole world just needs to stop and recognize what has happened.
    I will be praying for you and his family.

Leave a Reply

