Alpha-birdy-bet.

I had the chance to sit down and draw for a couple of hours yesterday, and as a result I made a lot of progress on my Alphabirdybet letters.

Alphabirdybet sketch.

Have I mentioned those yet? They started out as an Illustration Friday entry but didn’t get finished in time…so I’m making them up anyway for my future Etsy shop. [More on that later.] The plan is have individual letters  for sale (’cause every mama asks if she can spell her babies’ names) and an alphabet poster/print. And then I can use the letters for my promo materials, too.

Alphabirdybet sketch detail.

I inked most of the birds during lunch and am hoping to finish the tree branches tonight. And then maybe a watercolor wash on top? I’ve been really pleased with the birdies so far (lots and lots of birdies!) and can’t wait to show you some of the final pieces. They’re right on the border between “cute” and “cutesy”, but I’ve decided that I don’t care. Bring on the cuteness.

4 thoughts on “Alpha-birdy-bet.

  1. I’m so glad you left a comment on my “grocery” post because I’ve now found your blog! I’m absolutely fainting over these bird alphabet illustrations. I’m SOOOO hoping you’ll make some prints available??
    Please, let me know! They’re the best thing I’ve seen in awhile.
    I even LOVE them in the simple pen and ink!!

  2. I join in on the – Will the prints be available question. ttys BTW thanks for all your help Wednesday, it was very encouraging! – Lish – oh and I ordered the green and white. So, I’ll hold me breath:)

Leave a Reply

