Weekend, please.

So, I stayed up late-ish last night watching Jaws with husband. Neither of us had seen it before, so nobody knew who was going to get eaten…and despite some residual 70s corniness, it’s a pretty scary movie. Josh likes scary movies a lot more than I do, but he is gradually increasing my tolerance. I have decided that movie-related stress is a very effective way to make you forget job-related stress and can almost* recommend it as a therapy tactic (*if you don’t mind never wanting to swim in the ocean again).

wheatgrass.jpg

I really wanted to plant wheatgrass in these cute Japanese cups I’ve been collecting, but it’s been growing a lot more sparsely than I had imagined. How do people get lush clumps of wheatgrass growing in their coffeecups, etc.? Did I just not use enough seed?

Weekend plans include thrifting (Palouse Area Garage Sale at Beasely Coliseum, 8 am-1 pm on Saturday) and some card design. I’m throwing my lot in with some other crafty ladies who are sharing a table at the Farmer’s Market this summer, and that means I have to have something to sell. Details and blog address will be provided at soon as we get our act together.

Hope you have a good weekend!

7 thoughts on “Weekend, please.

  1. Yes! Jaws is actually a pretty good movie. The same cannot be said about Jaws 2-4 though. As the number increases, so does the corniness and unbelievability. Jaws in the Caribbean? With Michael Caine? See Jaws 4 for this classic.

  2. Hi Paula–I’ve had success with the wheat grass by covering he soil
    with the seeds–lots of seeds close together. I just sprinkle a little soil on top to hold everything in place and then water.
    Seeds poke thru the soil, and that’s o.k.. It’s a lush carpet
    in no time! You probably don’t know me, but I’ve enjoyed your
    blog (and “husband’s”) for some time. (I told your mom that I feel
    a bit like a stalker!) So here I am, out of the shadows–pleased to
    meet you! Looking forward to seeing what you’re up to next!

  3. We have white cups just like yours. I usually use them to serve desserts or olives. White china is great. I mix & match funky coloured pieces with my white staples to create new table settings all of the time.

  4. another solution to the wheatgrass problem is to ask a local smoothie or whole-foods shop for their wheatgrass “ends” (or, the rooty-bits they cut the actual grass off of” and plant those. I had enormous success with those back in my food-service days in gloucester. The only thing is, after a while, they always tended to falter and sparse-out. maybe a fertilization thing? good luck!

    sarah ben

Leave a Reply

