Partay.

Before I had the chance to moan about the temporary demise of this blog (’cause what’s a craft blog with no photos?), I got a couple of camera-loan offers. My brother-in-law cheerfully handed over his Sony for a couple of days, and as a result I can show pictures of the little open house party we had yesterday.

openhouse1.jpg

For some reason, I have really been wanting to make cupcakes lately. So, I did a little online search for  recipes and found that some people are really, really into cupcakes. This lady seems a little crazy to me, but she provided this recipe, which garnered a lot of comments (as it should, considering how much butter it uses.) I made 1 1/2 batches and got 40 cupcakes, which was about right. And then I spent Saturday afternoon frosting them with yellow and pink and white. I haven’t frosted anything in a long time and my technique was a little shakey, but the beauty of cupcakes is that when you put 30 of them on display together, nobody notices which flowers have four petals instead of five.

I got a lot of comments about the display method, which I think I invented (although it gets hard to remember what is inspired by an old issue of Martha and what is straight from your imagination). It’s a really nice way of adding height to a table and doesn’t involve lots of fancy display dishes that don’t fit in your cabinet. You just alternate plates of different sizes with some non-wobbly glasses and stack them as high as you dare. Mine shook a little when pushed, but they survived a couple of 2-, 3-, and 4-year olds reaching for seconds.

 openhouse3.jpg

So, a good time was (hopefully) had by all and I’m already planning the big Christmas party I want to throw. With lots of Christmas cookies and candles and carols and mulled cider. Mmm.

I’m going to try to snap some pictures tonight of my weekend projects and estate sale finds, which were unusually good. At the moment, I think I can survive on borrowing until I have enough money this summer to get a nice camera of my own. Any suggestions for a reasonably-priced digital SLR? Pretty please?

2 thoughts on “Partay.

  1. nice partay! love your cupcake display and that is an awesome tablecloth too.

    um, I have absolutely loved my Nikon D50, though I’m not sure it qualifies as “reasonably priced.” I think I’ll be paying mine off for a year or so yet, but it was worth it to me.

    good luck with the camera search!

Leave a Reply

