The bus and the curtains.

For some reason, I consistently almost miss the bus on Monday mornings. Since moving to Moscow, I have happily adapted to taking the ol’ Wheatland Express to Pullman every morning. However, if I happen to miss the 7:45 am route, I have to sit around for an hour until the next one shows up. This is bad form and bad for the work schedule.

Back to the Mondays, though. Last Monday, I was running late and asked Josh to drop me off on his way to Montrose. The bus pulled away before we reached my usual stop, so we decided to try and catch it on the other side of its little UI-campus loop. We pulled up alongside the SUB just as the bus was pulling away, but Josh flagged the driver down and he stopped long enough for me to hop on (only in small towns…).

This morning, I was on foot and a little late out the door. This, combined with the fact that the driver has been early the past week, led me to break into a jog as I cut through Friendship Square. Thus, I had a perfect view through the parking lot as the bus majestically pulled away from the stop next to Otto’s produce market. My jog became a run and I decided to try to catch up with it by the SUB (again). So there I was, dressed in corduroys + tweed jacket + chuck taylors + large purse, dodging engineering students and pounding down the sidewalk. The bus had already pulled away from the stop when I got to the corner, but (thank you, Jesus) the light was red and the driver let me on.

All that to say, if you witnessed the spectacle of my-very-out-of-shape-self dashing through the streets of Moscow, ID, this morning, this is why. Stressful way to start the day, I tell ya.

One of my major goals last weekend was to sew the living room curtains and wall-hanging, and I am happy to say my sewing machine has returned and I managed to finish both. Sewing machine repair is expensive, but my Singer has been (mostly) purring like a kitten ever since. It’s practically a new machine.

The curtains have three three pieces: a flat piece of unbleached muslin that covers the glass and two decorative panels made from printed cotton + an off-white linen blend.

newcurtains2.jpg

Curtains seem like the easiest project in the world, until you stretch three yards of fabric across your living room floor and try to cut or rip it in a straight line. I don’t know about everyone else, but I have a really hard time making sure that my panels are perfect rectangles with even seams. So it was with some trepidation that I carefully ironed the final product and carried it to the window, crossing my fingers that my math was right and they wouldn’t be too short, long, wide, or narrow.

They were just right.

newcurtains3.jpg

The fabric at the top is part of my effort to get maximum usage out of the printed bedspread I ordered from Urban Outfitters. After looking at all manner of sheets and shower curtains online, Urban Outfitters won the design + affordability contest hands down. Sure, I would have preferred to chop up some Dwell sheets, but that’s a little out of budget.

Unfortunately, you do get what you pay for and I lost some sq. feet of fabric because the print wasn’t cut straight. And then it was a long and agonizing task to balance the repeat properly on the wallhanging and curtains (you can’t tell, but the print on both curtain panels is exactly lined up). In the end, however, I ended up with enough fabric for the wallhanging, two curtains, and (hopefully) an accent for some new couch pillows.

newcurtains40.jpg

I also potted a bunch of plants last weekend, but this one lovely pansy (in a $1 thrifted pot!) looks the best. We plan to have a little herb garden growing on the sill, but I don’t think the muslin lets quite enough light in.  I plan to to add some curtain loops so I can hook the bottom half up.

newcurtains5.jpg

So here’s the up-to-date living room, which (you can tell) has got something of a black + white theme going on. I hope to whip up two couch cushion covers this week, and I’m still searching for the perfect lamp base. I wouldn’t mind adding some spots of color somewhere (turquoise or ochre/yellow would fit the best), but I haven’t decided where. Am open to suggestions…

5 thoughts on “The bus and the curtains.

  1. The curtains are great. Really like the black & white design. A few spots are jumping out at me in regard to needing color. Here are a few ideas….

    Below the window – some bright cushions to form a window seat. (I know you’ve already planned this spot for an herb garden, but just an idea). Or perhaps a runner that you could put glass over, so you could still use it for a plant ledge. Or you could just paint the entire top section of the ledge leaving it a bright cap for your greenery to pop out from.

    Also, I think a modern looking vase with some twisted branches would look very nice on the white stand to the side of the couch. Probably a turquoisish vase with ochre painted twisty branches.

    An example of a vase:
    http://www.crateandbarrel.com/family.aspx?c=180&f=22980

    Some examples of twisty material:


    http://www.crateandbarrel.com/family.aspx?c=1501&f=10574 (manzanita could probably be found around Moscow)

    And perhaps the small pillows on the sofa would be nice in a bright fabric. Were you thinking of redoing the larger pillows in the black/white material?

    Just my thoughts. :-)

  2. Moriah,

    For some reason, your comment got queued for approval..but I finally figured it out.

    Thanks so much for the suggestions. I cut pieces for a new set of pillows last night, and they’re mostly white (I do need to lighten that couch!) with a strip of ochre and of the b&w fabric. The white stand to the right of the couch is our file cabinet, and it definitely needs a little disguise. I’m looking for a lamp to put on top, preferably one with a turquoise base (the selection around here is pretty terrible, though). I’d like a vase as well, but I ‘m hesitant buy anything until I find out what the lamp will look like. The branches you suggested are great – something with height would be really nice.

    As far as the plants on the windowsill (not shown), they are looking a little cluttery to me and I’m not sure what to do about that. I should probably move them into the entry way because it gets more light, but I’m really happy with how that space looks at the moment. Will re-arrange them and take more photos…

  3. Perhaps WordPress wanted approval of my comment because it contained URLs…?

    Another thought, since it might be hard to find a lamp with a turquoise base, you might look for a white lamp base and buy/make/paint a lampshade to the appropriate shade of turquoise. I have a set of white lamps with bright green shades and they are very striking.

    Will your dog play or dig in your plants? We have cats and they love my plants…which can be to the demise of the plant. :-)

  4. But while your first instinct may be to just throw them in
    the washing machine, here’s a few reasons you should read the tag before doing so:. Look for clear customer service policies, satisfaction guarantees and fair return policies. A car is an investment that you make with the hopes that it is going to last you for years to come.

Leave a Reply

