Thrifting + Cooking.

The dining room is done, but I’m not going to take photos until the furniture is put back in place (it doesn’t look like much of an improvement with plastic, rollers, paint cans, etc. scattered all around). I do have pics of my other weekend accomplishements: thrifting and cooking.

I don’t know why I’ve been on such a thrifting kick lately, especially since I don’t have a lot of money to spend. Thrill of the hunt, maybe? Anyhow, I spent about $15 last weekend and came away with a lot of new treasures, including:

thrifting1.jpg

..two pillows in a really lovely linen print (from a thrift store). The pillows are strangely lumpy, so I think I’m going to throw the stuffing out and keep just the fabric. I really, really like the combination of green and turquoise.

thrifting2.jpg

..a vintage Christmas tablecloth in perfect condition (from an estate sale).

thrifting3.jpg

..a French wallhanging (from an estate sale). I’ve started collecting these – I have one with Swedish flowers (in Swedish) and one with American birds.

thrifting4.jpg

..a hobnail vase and a jar(?) with lid (from the dollar shelf at an antique store).

 thrifting5.jpg

..a piece of fabric-that-I-didn’t-realize-was-polyester and a great old photo (from a thrift store). Can you see the expression on the man’s face??

Not pictured: new spider plant, large piece of printed fabric, and some other stuff that I can’t remember right now.

I’m out of time, so I’m going to post the food pics without any comment other than that they were delicious. The potato soup moreso than that ravioli, but it was my first try. (Don’t the raviolis look like little alien spaceships?)

soup.jpg

ravioli1.jpg

ravioli2.jpg

2 thoughts on “Thrifting + Cooking.

  1. Hi, I’m new to your blog…but have to say it’s almost as fun reading about and looking at pics of other people’s thrifting finds than actually doing it yourself! Those treasures look great—I especially like the wallhanging… Fun finds!

Leave a Reply

