Yellow-ochre-orange.

I finished the entryway last night instead of going to the Damien Jurado concert at the UI. I would have had plenty of time to spare except that I thought I could finish the whole thing with one quart of paint.  Alas, I squeezed the roller dry with about 6 sq. feet left to go, sighed deeply, and made an emergency trip to Wal-Mart while understanding husband did the dishes.

entry1.jpg

The name of the paint was “February Gold,” but on the wall it turned out more “March Orange.” It’s a little bolder than I had originally envisioned, but I think I like it. No, I know I like it, I’m just convincing myself to feel like I like it. I think that the color will make more sense when the dining room is done, so you don’t look into the rest of the apartment and see only bland white walls (kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom are not immediately visible).

entry2.jpg

This is the incredible round mirror, which is the first thing you see when you walk in (it’s on the right in the first photo). I love the fact that it’s a circle, not the usual rectangle. I’m trying to put some circles in each room now to carry the theme throughout the apartment.

I’m looking forward to putting out my new Ikea vases and some dried pussywillow branches as soon as the white paint on the shelves has cured. As I was waiting for the bus this morning, I also had the sudden urge to find an old birdcage, paint it with the same yellow-ochre-orange, and hang it from the hook in front of our living room window. Since husband isn’t a huge fan of birds inside the house, it would probably house a nice vine-y plant. Wouldn’t that be pretty?

Have a good weekend, all.

5 thoughts on “Yellow-ochre-orange.

  1. Hi Paula,

    I’ve been enjoying your blog and love to see pictures of other homes slowly taking shape. We moved into a two-story Craftsman last April and I still have a ton of work to do. But, that’s half the joy of living I think. :-)

    Anyway, I don’t even think you know me (I know Josh), but wanted to say Hi and come out of lurking.

    Have a blessed Lord’s Day!
    Moriah Barach

  2. Pingback: Just dye it. «

  3. Pingback: Etsy photos, take four. «

Leave a Reply

