Dirt.

When I came to work this morning, I was kind of sad that I didn’t have any new photos to post (almost done painting the entryway, but it needs some quality time with a roller). And then my job came to the rescue.

fingernails.jpg

Do you see this? I got paid to get dirty today!

WSU has this thing called “Cougar Pride Day” when employees are asked to volunteer for specific grounds-improvement projects. I signed up and got to spend 45 minutes of an otherwise humdrum day spreading bark and planting petunias. Now, I know better than to get too romantic about spending time in the garden (I once spent a very long summer weeding flowerbeds for Parks & Rec), but my 20 minutes of digging holes and filling them with flowers were definitely the best and most worthwhile 20 minutes of my day. I don’t think that any of my emails will make the world more beautiful the way the petunias will.

I very rarely feel this way, so I’m going to go ahead and say it while I do: WSU, you rock. You gave me the chance to get some dirt under my fingernails today.

Leave a Reply

