Looking forward to the weekend.

Isn’t it amazing how you can look forward to the weekend after a vacation and only four days of work?  This has been a pretty stressful week in the ol’ office –  my mail stack is down to two inches of mystery applications, but everything else  is in complete chaos.  No, I haven’t sent out that flyer; No, I haven’t made up the mailer yet; No, I haven’t emailed the recruitment committee; No, I haven’t organized those applications; No, I haven’t…

After talking with my supervisor, we’ve both come to the conclusion that the only way for me to get more work done is to work more hours (novel, I know).  Soooo, I think I might jump to full-time for a month or two.  This will be very good for the finances but very bad for the arts + crafting time.  I really depend on those extra two hours in the afternoon to get things done, and they’re going to disappear for a while.  Which means that I will have less stuff to blog about.  Which brings me back to the wonderfulness of weekends, when one doesn’t need to go to work.

I don’t have any pretty photos today; I was going to post a pic of the snow coming down fast yesterday afternoon (we got about 5 inches!), but I cleverly left my camera in the car.  So I will direct you to some lovely images on other people’s blogs.

You may have heard about the tragedy that befell the Kim family as they were driving through the Oregon mountains.  Kati Kim owns two stores in the San Francisco area that sell handcrafted goods, so the crafty blogging community was tremendously concerned and formed an auction of donated items to benefit the family.  The auction is going on right now on Ebay and everything’s already pretty expensive, but there’s a complete list of all the items for sale with links to the creators’ blogs at http://kimfamilyauction.typepad.com/, and it’s an amazing collection of crafty inspiration.  I especially like this, this, this, and this.  You should check it out.

Another current source of inspiration is design*sponge and the design*sponge guest blog.  Both feature a constantly-changing array of artists, crafters, and online stores, and the photos alone are a great source of inspiration for things to try to recreate on a budget in your own home.  Guest-blogger Mav of port2port, an amazing letterpress artist herself, put together an affordable art guide that is a particularly good place to look for screenprint art at a reasonable price.  I plan to buy some new posters as soon as we have enough wallspace to put them on.

I’m going to try to work on the kimono robe (I ironed all the fabric last night) and vest renovation projects this weekend, so hopefully I’ll have something to show on Monday.

Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

