Ms. Pioneer at the craft fair.

So, the Holiday Gala at the Dahmen Artisan Barn was (to me) a success.  Hooray!!  Of course, if I’d sold a card to every person that said, “Oh, what a cute idea,” I’d have done four times as well.  But I am certainly not complaining.

table-with-pins.jpg

My setup was pretty much the same as last time but with the addition of the pins and barrettes (which I finished at 1 am that morning).  The pins are displayed on the baby-sweater-turned-hat made by my mom and the barrettes are in my favorite English tin.  I only sold about a third of them, but the people that bought them seemed really happy.  One little girl put two in her hair and bounced around like that all afternoon, which was really cute.  (Note about the photos: the light in the barn wasn’t great so most of these were taken with my horrible flash, which also messed up the colors.)

lish-buying-a-card.jpg

My friends did come by and told me my stuff looked cute, which was really encouraging.  The pic above shows my friend Alisha – who’s about ten times more beautiful in person – browsing through the fabric cards.

mom-at-table.jpg

My adorable little mum also showed up and sat at the table so I could run around and check out the competition.  I bought a tall skinny silk painting by a Chinese lady whose work I’ve seen around town.  It was only $25 and is so elegant looking – just a few flowers and a butterfly on a white background.  As soon as I figure out how to frame it I’ll put it in our bedroom.  Hmm…must try Chinese-style painting some day.

 choir.jpg

I forgot to take a photo of the outside of the barn, so if you’re interested you’ll have to look at their website (the fence made out of old carriage wheels is locally famous).  I thought it was a great venue, except for the low lighting.  An added perk was the choir which spent part of the afternoon singing Christmas carols a capella in the loft.  They were really great, and the mood was unbelievably Christmassy.  “Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming” almost made me cry with nostalgia.  I have a chance to go back next weekend to set up again on Saturday – it’s not an official “craft fair”, but they think there’ll be increased traffic because of a special that’s running Friday in a local paper.  Will have to see how the Christmas presents are going.

 sewing-basket.jpg

Speaking of Christmas presents, I spent most of yesterday sewing in our cozy little apartment.

sewing-1.jpg

I’m afraid to say what I’m working on lest one of the recipients happen to read this.

sewing-2.jpg

So suffice it to say that things are going well, but our dining room table will be covered in fabrics scraps for the foreseeable future.

sewing-3.jpg

(Another note about the photos: my camera doesn’t like yellow.  The fabric is a fleece that’s mustard on the outside but a lovely lemony color on the inside.  And, unfortunately, I have discovered that the lovely lemony fuzz likes to get everywhere.)

It’s time to get back to work and I haven’t had time to tell my story about trying to walk to work this morning (ice + chuck taylors = not a good time).  Suffice it to say that I wimped out after painstakingly inching down our hill and took the bus.

And I almost forgot Ms. Pioneer, as mentioned in the title of the post.  She’s my new down jacket, a $5.00 rummage sale find.  Don’t read too much into the label – I think she’s fabulous.

down-coat-tag.jpg

..Which is why this week is brought to you by the colors turquoise and grey.

down-coat.jpg

6 thoughts on “Ms. Pioneer at the craft fair.

  1. Sounds like great fun. I sadly couldn’t make it on Saturday. Maybe I’ll be able to come this next time around. I think your pins are adorable, by the way. And Ms. Pioneer sounds like quite a gal….

  2. Brooke – Please do come! I’ll be there again this Saturday from about 10 to 4.

    Mert – Thanks for stopping by. :)

    Katy – Will do…I think I might see her tomorrow. Might have to make some more soon.

Leave a Reply

