Pomegrenades.

(Yes, I misspelled it after a memorable mispronunciation during Sunday prayer.)
pom-setup-sm.jpg
Remember the pomegranate project?  The one I was practicing for?  Well, I finally finished the drawing during Thanksgiving, just in time to hand it over to the new owner while she was in Pullman. I have a nice scan of the whole thing on my home computer and I’ll try to post it tomorrow.  But in the meantime, I present to you…the process drawing with colored pencils.  Yes, I was organized enough to take photos along the way just in case you’re interested in how a person goes making a full-color colored pencil drawing.  Let me know if it’s useful for you.

Special note: the method I used was one of layering different colors on top of each other rather then trying to match the color with just one pencil.  I really like layering because the closer you look, the more different colors you can see and the more interesting the drawing is.  The pomegranate drawings I did before are examples of these two different styles: the pomegranate in the green bowl was layered, while the two on the white cloth were done with color matching (mostly…it’s hard for me to kick the layering habit).  If you look closely, you can see the difference.
pomegranate-clip.jpg2-pomegranates-clip.jpg
Step 1. I started with a tonal drawing in a dark color that serves as a base.  In this case, I was trying to match some silk curtains that were a bluish-red (almost a magenta), so I chose violet blue.
poms-1-sm.jpg
Step 2. After establishing my shadows and highlights, I added the first layers of color with orange-red, pink-red, and yellow.
poms-2-sm.jpg
Step 3. The shadows were still a little blue, so I layered burnt sienna on top of the darkest areas.
poms-3-sm.jpg
Step 4. At the point, the pomegranates were looking a little anemic and I went over the red areas with the most vibrant red pencil I had.
poms-4-sm.jpg
Step 5. The drawing was basically done, but the details needed to be sharpened and the red pushed up another notch.  I also worked some of the colors around a little to be a more accurate reflection of the real pomegranates.
poms-5-sm.jpg
Unfortunately, my camera isn’t great at capturing color and all of these drawings are still a little washed out.  But at least they give you an idea about the process.

Last week was brought to you by the colors red and brown.
red-and-brown.jpg

4 thoughts on “Pomegrenades.

  1. The, uh, tutorial in edition. It is so cool to see how these things are done, in addition to the final product. I’m now going to try to glaze my blue-shading with burnt sienna to see what happens.

  2. I’m working on a colored pencil drawing of pomegranates, myself! I have one open, though… which is proving rather daunting… Thank you for the inspiration! Beautiful drawing (and thanks for the photos throughout the process… wonderful)!

  3. Hi Paula,
    My name is Katie and I found your pomegranates drawing while searching for the perfect graphics for my massage business, Pomegranate Therapeutics. I was wondering if I could use your drawing on my business card and brochure. I’d be very happy to pay royalties for the use, since I truly value beautiful art. Please let me know what you think. Thank you so much.
    Katie
    katie.constantine@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

