What happened?

Greetings to the 10 people who still check this blog. Scrolling down just a bit will show you that my last post was on December 1. Whoops! It was not intentional, I assure you. So, what on earth happened since then that could have kept a woman from blogging?

In a nutshell,

…We finished Advent.
…We celebrated Christmas with my WHOLE family (parents, siblings, babies) for the first time in at least four years.
…We celebrated my sister’s birthday in Pensacola and I remembered yet again how much I love her and wish she lived nearer.
…I hurt my back.
…My back kept hurting.
…Lots of visits to the chiropractor didn’t help.
…Kind people from school volunteered to watch my kids so I wouldn’t be tempted to pick them up.
…One of them dropped a hint that I should take lots more Advil to get some anti-inflammatory effects.
…It worked, which was awesome, but other parts of my body filled in the pain void.
…I went to see a rheumatologist three times and had an obscene amount of blood drawn.
…After eliminating a lot of other possibilities, he diagnosed me with a herniated disc, fibromyalgia, joint hypermobility, and thoracic outlet syndrome. None of them are terribly severe in and of themselves, but together the effect has been a bit overwhelming.

So, I am hoping it is not a stretch of your imagination to see that getting through the day whilst providing reasonable childcare, meals, laundry service, etc. has left me with little time or energy for this poor little blog.

(I should add that I’m not trying to have a pity party because it has actually been sooooo helpful to find out all of this information about how and why my body works the way it does. I feel like I finally understand why I’ve felt badly in certain ways for years and that now I can actually try to work at the problem instead of just being confused. So, in a weird way, all the medical stuff has been good news. I will share some of the diet changes I am making in a future post, just in case anyone is interested.)

I haven’t been taking a ton of photos lately but I do have a huuuuuuuge backlog from Christmas, etc. I’m not going to bore you with all of them but I’ve picked out a few highlights. The rest are over on flickr.

I promise it won’t take me three months to come back again.

Camilla’s rather wiggly ballet class

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Her first Nativity Pageant (I painted the cave)

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Christmas morning at our condo in Panama City Beach, FL

Early morning stockings.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Christmas day at my brother’s house

New tube-tus.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Opening presents.

A little snack.

Untitled

Partners in crime.

Walking to the pier on a windy afternoon

Untitled

Untitled

Cousins.

Untitled

Panama City Beach boardwalk.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Riding the carousel.

Mollified by hot chocolate.

Untitled

Enjoying Marian and Jacob’s visit to Pensacola

Reading with Uncle Jacob.

My nephew.

Playing in the gazebo.

Untitled

Untitled

Whacking with sticks.

Untitled

The daddies and the babies.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Sharing with cousins.

Untitled

Cute as a button.

Untitled

A man and his car.

Untitled

Untitled

Pushing turned out to be fun too.

Leave me alone, woman!

Untitled

Untitled

Marian’s Birthday Dinner Feast

Marian's birthday dinner.

Bathtime babies.

Untitled

Untitled

The Momofuku Milk Bar carrot cake.

Untitled

Then they left. And we cried.

I’ve taken a few more pics since then and I’ll try to put them up soon.

4 thoughts on “What happened?

  1. Okay, first things first…that cake? Awesome. Second, you and your sister look so much alike! And third, I just love your girls. They are so adorable.

  2. Your cave looks amazingly like the one in the icon of the Nativity! I wish we could have been there to see the pageant. The pictures of the cousins together are so much fun! Ransom asked if we could go to the family museum for the LONGEST time after we came back. Sigh. We love you so much and can’t wait to see you this summer!! Thank you for posting!!

  3. Paula, lots of changes for you guys. The kids are just gorgeous. I’ll be praying for you as you continue to learn more about your back. xo

Leave a Reply

