The Pumpkin Putch.

(She has since corrected her pronunciation, but for a while Camilla was all excited to go to the “putch” and pick some pumpkins.)

My sweet friend Carrie has a girl a year older than Camilla and a baby a little younger than Beatrice and suggested that we go to a pumpkin patch together. We were initially looking for one with pony rides, but it turned out that we had our hands full as it was. If you’re local, check out Holland Farms in Pace: there’s tons to do, the pumpkins are big, and if drive over a screw the owner will chase you down to tell you you have a flat and then fill it up with his air compressor so you can limp into town and get a patch.

1

One of the biggest attractions for the kids had nothing to do with pumpkins. There was a giant corn pit that was so oddly comfortable that I could have sat in there all day myself.

2

(That’s my friend Carrie. We accidentally had a sort of twinsies thing going with our glasses.)

3

Beatrice figured out pretty quickly that the corn was fun but not edible. That made for a nicer morning.

4

5

6

8

9

10

Need I say that I picked an awful lot of corn out of children’s pockets later that day?

11

I think it’s supposed to be an extra charge, but the nice farmer gave us all a really long hayride for free.

12

13

Bea squirmed and squirmed until I figured out that she didn’t want to be sitting on my lap. She wanted to be standing right behind the tractor. My little farm girl.

14

There was a little petting zoo but the animals didn’t feel like being petted.

15

Or maybe Camilla scared them off when she shouted “Here is grass for you to eat!” while pushing handfuls through the fence. That was pretty much the only disappointment, though.

16

There were regular swings and crazy bouncy ones that looked like horses.

18

17

19

Way out past the pumpkin patch there were also two giant slides made from drainage pipes.

20

They were a little scary looking so I was impressed that the girls went down. I tried them myself and they were fun and not too fast.

21

22

23

24

25

Then we went back to the corn pit for more playing while Carrie picked out some pumpkins.

28

27

29

Next time I will have to remember to give Beatrice a ride in the wagon.

30

Even with a punctured tire, it was a great day. I look forward to going again next fall.

31

3 thoughts on “The Pumpkin Putch.

  1. Your hair is getting so long! And of course I am impressed by short sleeves and sun at a pumpkin patch in October :) The rain started in Seattle today. I am not sad about it…yet!

Leave a Reply

