Hello 2011.

It’s hard to believe that 2011 has started already since the last bit of 2010 was a blur of nausea, less nausea, shopping, wrapping, packing, shipping, traveling, celebrating, and a teeny bit of relaxing. That doesn’t mean that it went fast, just that I didn’t know when it was over. I really am sorry that I dropped out like that. Those of you who have had morning sickness will understand. I feel kind of bad that Camilla has relatively few photos from that bit of her life, but I had recovered enough by Christmas to take a few. Really, though, I am coming to grips with the fact that not all childhood moments are properly photograph-able. When we went to the Georgia Aquarium last year, Camilla was six months old, behaved splendidly, and there were hardly any people. Result? Lots of nice photos. When we went this year, it was a different story (as you’ll see below). The same goes for Christmas itself. Fortunately, I have a husband who reminds me that the memories are more important than the pictures anyway.

Of course, the other problem with not blogging in a long time is that, when you do feel like it again, you tend to procrastinate because there’s an awful lot of catching up to do. Prepare yourself, because I have two months’ worth of pics to share. Maybe it’s a good thing that I didn’t feel like taking any more.

At the end of 2010, we…

…saw the return of the bath monster!

(I like to think of this version as “bigger, longer, and uncut.”)

The Bath Monster returns...

…started eating peanut butter and made the perfect Will Shakespeare beard out of it.

The Will Shakespeare peanut butter beard.

…pulled out the Christmas decorations.

…transformed into Christmas elves, if only for a few moments.

Our Christmas elf.

…rediscovered our creche (which was waaaayyyyy more fascinating this year)

…and piously gave it some kisses.

…tried to take that family Christmas photo in front of the tree.

…skyped with Grandma & Grandpa Gibbs on Christmas Eve.

Opening a few presents on Christmas Eve.

…got an awesome wood play kitchen that has been in use every single day since then.

Her new play kitchen.

…drove to Panama City Beach on Christmas day to be with my brother and sister-in-law.

Christmas dinner.

…tried eating the Christmas lemon that grew on our very own tree.

Tasting the Christmas lemon.

…opened more presents.

…and lit the Christmas pudding on fire.

Flaming pudding.

…froze our hind ends off in Atlanta (there’s some snow on the ground, if you look hard).

Freezing in Atlanta.

…made the best of it.

Snuggled.

…went to the Georgia Aquarium.

…timed our visit all wrong and shared the experience with about one million other people.

At the Georgia Aquarium.

Sighting a whale shark.

…finally got to see the belugas.

Belugas.

…managed not to take a photo of Camilla and the otters, her favorite animals.

…grudgingly accepted that this was probably her favorite view out of the whole aquarium.

Her favorite view.

…and skipped a bunch of exhibits because patience ran out and naptime was needed. C’est la vie.

If you’re hardcore (= related by blood or marriage or a very, very close friend) you can find a few more photos here.

….

I see that I cleverly managed not to take a photo of my impressively rounded belly. Either baby #2 is a lot bigger than baby #1, or the space just, er, accommodated him/her more quickly. But I’m sure there will be plenty of time for that later.

Speaking of baby #1, I hear that she has woken from her nap. Thanks for continuing to stop by my little blog, and I’ll try to amuse you more often in the future.

Happy 2011, everyone.

4 thoughts on “Hello 2011.

  1. I am glad to see you blogging again & love seeing pictures of Camilla.

    We had the same experience at the Seattle Aquarium – it was quite busy the Tues after Christmas. And Addie was disappointed that there were no Beluga whales. They are in her book “Curious George at the Aquarium”, so after our visit she said “next time there should be whales there”. (and I thought “Ok sweet pea, I will make that happen for you”)

    Yes, my body gave more spacious accommodations to my baby #2. She was slightly larger at birth, but not enough to justify my extra weight (which 14months later I am still needing to be more diligent about getting rid of). Just do not compare yourself to anyone who is pregnant with their first. Especially, but not limited to, your sister-in-law!

  2. Once again I appreciate what a capable photographer you are, and how you put them all together in a cohesive arrangement that thrills my soul. I’m struck by how much Camilla has changed–I hope she knows me when I see her next! She is absolutely gorgeous! Also, it is obvious that Josh is a terrific, affectionate father–and you are photographically attentive to both your husband and child. I’m so grateful to God for the talents he has given you, including your growing new baby! Tons of love to you all, Mom

  3. Thanks so much for posting, Paula! I think Camilla’s eyes look especially pretty in the picture of her bundled up in the stroller. I also think you have inspired me to want to go to the Georgia Aquarium…but we might have to wait a while before that becomes a reality. I know you came up to WA when Camilla was small…I’ll have to get some advice from you about travelling with a tiny baby.
    It was really great to have you guys for Christmas, and hopefully you can all come stay again before too long!

Leave a Reply

