A quick ‘n’ easy flower headband.

I had a rare burst of both creativity and energy when I was walking past the faux flowers at Joann’s yesterday (40% off!) and finished this little crafting project last night. Other than the flowers, I happened to have almost all of the ingredients on hand already…if I hadn’t, I probably wouldn’t have even started. But since I had the time and a camera handy, I took a few pics and thought I’d make one last crafty-type post before baby comes (puleeeeeeaaaaasssse, let this be the last post!).

Flower Headband Tutorial

Materials
Skinny plastic headband (I got a set of 5 for $3 at Ross)
Florist’s tape (it helps if it is a similar color to the headband)
Fake flowers (mine are made of balsa wood)
Scissors

Making a flower headband, step 1.

Step 1
Disassemble your flowers and cut the wire stems so that they are only 2 or 3 inches long. Move them around the side of your headband until you find an arrangement you like, keeping in mind that they look better when they are closer to your ear (at least, that’s what I think…if the flowers end up in the middle of your head, the headband will have more of a Ren Fair vibe).

Making a flower headband, step 2.

Step 2
Wrap the florist’s tape tightly around the headband a few times in the spot where you intend to place your uppermost flower. Then, hold the flower on the headband with the stem/wire on the outside and secure with tape.

Making a flower headband, step 3.

Step 3
Continue to add flowers working from the top to the bottom by wrapping tape around the stems. Trim stems as necessary if they seem too long or want to poke out.

Making a flower headband, step 4.

Step 4
After all the flowers are secured, wind the tape around the bottom a few times and cut. You can also add florist’s tape to the other side of the headband so that it feels and looks the same on both sides (I think the tape really helps it to stay in your hair, too).

Making a flower headband, step 5.

Step 5 (Optional)
Pick out a matching shirt and wear your new headband to church, hoping it will attract attention away from your unwashed hair and hugely pregnant stomach. Try not to get annoyed when your plan fails.

The final product.

I think I might make a few more of these after the baby comes. It really only takes about 15 minutes, and it’s so fun to have jewelry for your head!

Did I mention I got a haircut?

4 thoughts on “A quick ‘n’ easy flower headband.

  1. Very cute Paula! Your final comments about diverting attention from your belly made me snicker. Hah! I have to admit I’m obsessively checking your blog to see if your sweet baby girl has arrived yet. :) Come on baby!!

Leave a Reply

