I heart my living room.

(Although not these photos so much.)

After husband and I returned from our Seattle vacation, I did a little living room rearranging that I haven’t posted about yet. It was mostly prompted by my new Urban Outfitters fan print rug,  which replaced the sadly grey’d white Ikea carpet. Yes, I knew that a white carpet wasn’t such a hot idea in a high-use area where nobody takes off their shoes. But I did it anyway. It is currently located under our dining room table, waiting patiently to be cleaned (this is a much better place for it, anyhow, since we rarely eat at the table).

Living room improvements.

Back to the new rug, though. So far, it’s been a very worthwhile purchase in that it had the unexpected and most fortunate effect of helping me to like the couch better. I think that adding a little more color to the floor has helped the forest green beast to stand out less (everything was very black and white before).

New wall collage (unfinished).

The other major new addition is the frame collage on the wall. I used to have a large wallhanging which I liked in principle (simpler = better, right?), but not so much in reality…my UO bedspread just wasn’t cutting it like the Marimekko or Inhabit wall hanging I really wanted. So, I picked up a few cheap frames at Ikea and scrounged around our poster + photo collection. The images are, from left to right:

  • Er, blank (will hopefully be filled with this).
  • The Gods Hate Kansas” book cover postcard. (Subtitle: “A Startling Story of Science at War with Alien Life-Forms.” For some reason, no one finds this as funny as I do.)
  • Photo taken by Tricia Porter, meant to accompany The Habit of Perfection by Gerard Manley Hopkins.
  • Gregory Crewdson photo. (Yes, I cut it out of a book. So sue me. We look at it a lot more, now.)
  • Mark Kozelek poster by The Small Stakes (it’s a lot better-looking in real life).
  • Blur’s Think Tank cover, art by Banksy.
  • “Make Art, Not War” poster that I picked up at Subterranean Books in St. Louis.
  • More Crewdson photos.

It’s still not “done,” of course (we’d like to add a Loretta Lux photo and get a few more frames), but it’s good enough to make me happy every time I see it. Okay, a few of the frames are a leeetle bit crooked – and I measured! – and that bothers me from time to time, but I’ve been able to leave it alone so far.

Ikea vases.

The mess level always creeps up as the week goes on, but it’s so nice to know that, after vacuuming and straightening tomorrow, I can once again have that nice “ahhh” feeling after walking in the door. Minor living room changes? A few bucks + a hammer. Loving your own living room? Priceless. 

Finally, as a random Friday comment, my blog has been the recipient of a lot of strange searches lately. Today’s featured search phrase is “fingernails -disease -health”, and I have no idea what I’ve ever said about any of those topics.

Have a good weekend!

One thought on “I heart my living room.

  1. i know, some of my favorite searches have been ‘suckling husbands’ and ‘lady bugs deficate’. those are the kinds of things that bring you straight to me. what about ‘smoking hot housewife’? what’s wrong with that?

Leave a Reply

