Why people live here.

I appologize in advance for the shameful lack of arts & crafting on this blog as of late.  I hope to return to our regularly scheduled program as soon as vacation is over…although I really don’t want it to be over. The photo below is from my current project, a bag I’m making for my mum to hold her knitting (update: I finished! pics to come!).

fabric.jpg

In the meantime, I’m posting one last string of photos of the place where I’m staying.  Ever since I was little (four?), my grandma and grandpa owned a big house in the woods along the Puget Sound.  To get to this house, you have to drive down a long gravel driveway through the trees.

road.jpg

Then you come out into a clearing where you can see the house, shop, shed, and schoolhouse (that’s my brother-in-law on the tractor and my sister standing carefully out of the way).

housecomplex.jpg
The house is located at the top of a bluff overlooking the water. You get a lovely view of Vashon Island from their back deck, and downtown Seattle is visible off to the left. We like to think that it’s the best place to watch the fireworks each 4th of July; we can see the lightshow but avoid the crowds and noise.

So I have to say that, while I detest the traffic, I can understand why people live here. This is the view from the front porch yesterday morning,

vashonisland.jpg
and this was from this morning.

sunrisevashon.jpg

sunrisedowntown.jpg

You might notice that the ground looks rather frosty. The combination of yesterday’s rain and last night’s chill produced an amazing thick frost that coated all the leaves and branches – almost like snow, but more delicate.

frost1.jpg
frost2.jpg
frost3.jpg
frost4.jpg

I’m supposed to be packing right now, so I’m going to have to cut this short. But I’ll leave you with a few more views of the elusive Mt. Ranier, which made some rare appearances yesterday and today (you might have noticed it on the right in the sunrise photo above). It was really nice of God to give us something big and beautiful to look at as we creep down the freeway going 20 mph.
mtranierfrombridge.jpg
mtranierfromtacoma.jpg

Next time: mom’s knitting bag, some Christmas presents in review, and happy little cousins receive handmade dolls (a Success Story).

5 thoughts on “Why people live here.

  1. Wow, Paula. Love the pictures of the hoarfrosty leaves.

    Cool knitting needle holder. I just made a paint brush holder for my artsy brother in law. I was so pleased with it, because it seemed useful, but it was still easy to make. I just used that blue mattress ticking fabric.

  2. Paula– I absolutely LOVE looking at your blog and I am so inspired by what you have accomplished, though I know that I will never be able to match your amazing eye for the PERFECT picture of everything. I spent the New Year with a certain “foreign” relative of yours, and I was so delighted by his company. I tried to get him to be competitive with me about this silly little game on the airplane computer, but he remained uninspired. He told me that one of the things he was truly competitive about was trying to take a better picture than you. As you can see from the picture he took of me, he has not yet achieved his goal– though I think it is more my fault than his.

    I asked this same foreigner for your email address, but he forgot– so this is my way of extending my own.

    It was so comforting and so good to see you. I can’t wait to tell you all about my new plans, crafty and uncrafty.

  3. I really love your photography, you’ve gota really warm style – even when taking pictures of frozen things. It’s got a real charm to it. :)

  4. Pingback: Dish week, day 5. «

  5. your site is charming and cozy – but I was baffled that you would describe Maria Muldaur as “obscure”. Maybe if you live in a trailer in Tennessee and listen to the same 5 David Allen Coe albums over and over. Maria has been recording and performing for years and years. What a sweet dad to help you expand your horizons.

Leave a Reply

